linkhasem.blogg.se

Get info mac ignore ownership on this volume
Get info mac ignore ownership on this volume






get info mac ignore ownership on this volume

So I have selected the drive and I'm going to get info, Command I by the way for Get Info or you can do File for info and that is how that is brought up, and you will notice that there is a check box here called Ignore Ownership on this Volume. So the better way to do it is to select the drive itself in the Finder here.

get info mac ignore ownership on this volume

But that can get to be a pain especially if you are creating folders and adding new folders and changing things all the time. So say if I want to change everybody to Read and Write I can do that and it changes it for that folder. So I have what Staff and Everyone, everyone would be any user, staff would just be admin users on this machine, would be able to do. Now fixing that on a folder by folder basis is pretty easy because here I can see by getting info on this folder that I can change it. Likewise if I disconnected this drive from this Mac attached to another Mac I wouldn't have permission to change and add to this folder either because it is not owned by the user on that Mac it is owned by the user on this Mac. If I would log out of the MacMost user and log into the user that I use for my day to day work I would find out that I don't have permission to change files and put new files into the folder because it is owned by MacMost. So you can see here it is owned by MacMost which is the current user logged in. Now when you create a new folder that folder then will have the permission set so that it is owned by the current user.

#Get info mac ignore ownership on this volume pro#

Actually on my MacPro they are both internal but say on an iMac or using a MacBook Pro you may have the second drive as an external drive. In it I store a bunch of different things like iPhoto Library, iTunes Media, a bunch of different videos, and different things that I don't want on the main internal drive. So I have another hard drive on my Mac that is called MediaDisk. When you set up an external hard drive to be used in this way there is on little setting that you may not notice right off the bat that makes it much easier. So I get email from a lot of people who are using external hard drives to share things like say iPhoto libraries or music libraries, media videos, all sort of stuff between either multiple computers or multiple users on the same computer. On today's episode I'm going to show you one simple little setting that will make it much easier to use external hard drives, especially if you have multiple users. Video Transcript: Hi this is Gary with MacMost Now. Check out MacMost Now 793: Ignore Ownership On External Drives at YouTube for closed captioning and more options.








Get info mac ignore ownership on this volume